All new enrollments are by appointment only. Enrollments are held Monday through Thursday, except holidays.
Before you attempt to enroll in our program, you must have documentation referring you to our program clearly indicating that you have a DUI on your driving record. You can obtain documentation from the California DMV and/or the Court of conviction.
In very general terms, there are two laws in California that govern DUI offenders. One law covers the Court’s actions as to conviction, probation, jail, etc. The other law is that which governs your driver’s license, which is the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). If you wish the return of your driving privileges, it’s the DMV that rules. However, both laws must be satisfied.
PLEASE NOTE: It is the participant’s responsibility to determine which program the DMV or Court will require for a specific case.
If your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) at arrest was .08 or above, you may enroll in our program under the DMV Administrative Per Se (APS) law, prior to obtaining a court referral. You may enroll with the temporary drivers license (pink slip) issued by the police officer at the time of arrest.
If your BAC (Blood Alchohol Content) at arrest was .20 or above and it is your first offense, it will be in your best interest to contact the court before enrolling under the DMV APS law.
To learn more about the DMV APS law click here.
In addition, acceptable documentation prior to obtaining a court referral is your Driving License Record provided directly from the DMV only after your DMV hearing.
Click here to find your local DMV office for information on how to obtain your Driving License Record.
If you are convicted of driving under the influence of either alcohol or drugs or both (DUI) the court will provide the necessary documentation (referral form) to enroll in our program and you must enroll by the date set by the Court of Conviction.
After the date of your conviction, you have a certain number of days to enroll in a program. Failure to enroll on time will require you to return to the court of conviction and obtain a new court order. This can add to your court costs. Furthermore, if you do not enroll, the court system may issue a “failure to appear” arrest warrant.
Note: If you have been referred by a court outside San Diego County, you have 21 days from the date of referral to enroll. Class space is limited, so don’t wait until the last minute to enroll.
Click here for San Diego Superior Court Standard Sentencing Guidelines.
If you were arrested outside California, you may call (858) 467-6810, Extension 143, or you can download the Out Of State Enrollment Form. Print and fill out the form and follow the submission instructions on the form. Some participants may require an assessment before determining their program.
You must call for an enrollment appointment at (858) 467-6810. Follow the instructions given by our automated telephone system and first listen to all information before making your appointment. After receiving an appointment date, be certain that you have all the paperwork needed and bring it with you to your appointment.
All new enrollments are by appointment only, and you must enroll by the date set by the Court of Conviction. Enrollments are held Monday through Thursday, except holidays.
The minimum first conviction program lasts for three months. Extended terms of six months, nine months or 12 months may be required by the court, or in the case of out-of-state convictions, may be determined by a prior alcohol and drug assessment.
Enrollment registration and orientation will last approximately 4 to 4.5 hours. You may dress casually, but proper and respectable attire is expected.
You will not be allowed to enroll if you are under the influence of alcohol or drugs.